Need help? Book our fixed price WordPress Support service.

Can I Safely Delete a User?

You can usually safely delete a user but you should proceed with cautions and watch the prompts.

  1. Navigate to the Users > All Users menu and locate the user you wish to delete.
  2. Hover over the user’s name – a small menu will appear beneath the user’s name – click ‘Delete’
  3. This bit’s the important bit: decide what you want to do with their content:
    • Delete the content. Not a good idea if this was your web developer as you may delete all the pages on your website!
    • Assign to another user.
  4. Confirm the deletion by clicking the Confirm button.

What if you accidentally deleted all the content

Potentially not a disaster – the content will be in the Bin / Trash. You can navigate to the bin and you should be able to restore most of the content. This can be a little messy though so we advise taking a backup of your database first.

What of you just want to stop a user logging in and making changes?

To prevent a user making changes and accessing important parts of your dashboard, you can just edit their account and change their role to Subscriber

Was this article helpful?

No 0

About the Author

Christian Mayne is a full time WordPress developer and consultant based in the UK. He runs a UK based WordPress development agency with clients all over the World. As well as WordPress development, Christian has been teaching WordPress use and development since 2014 in classroom settings and online.

LEAVE COMMENT